The day after tomorrow…


I am pretty sure that at this point in time, my blogger friends would have written their experiences about the Condura run… Well, it has been two weeks after the said event and this page is still silent on what happened to me on that day. I had a wonderful time. I won’t write about the route, the excellent hydration, the awesome support crew, or how good I felt after seeing all my friends accomplish their mission for the day. I know I will not be vilified if I digress for a while and write a bit of a reflection on the year that was…

About the same time last year, I was at cross-road. There are so many things that I wanted to do but couldn’t because of work restrictions and so many other personal reasons. I was also having a hard time trying to reconcile the fact that I am getting tired of what I was doing. I wanted to leave, but I didn’t know how to do it. I agonized about it day in and day out…

They say that burn-out happens to every individual in varying degrees. I guess at that point, it was hitting me BIG time.  I was touchy and crabby.  I was haggard, so like the girl in the stresstab commercial. And when I lamented to my friend how I was feeling, he said “Teng, I guess you are experiencing midlife” I was like HUH?! Are you kidding? I just turned 32! But then I guess, he was right… or maybe I was in denial.

Well, a full year had pass.  I am not saying that I am over some of my personal issues, but suffice to say that I am in a much better situation now.  I must have done something good to deserve such redemption.

It was a very trying time at the beginning of the year, but it slowly became better due to some well-meaning people who believed in me and indulged me in my idiosyncrasy when I needed it.  Without them I may not be where I am now… I know I can never thank them enough but I do hope that in time I can also do to others what they did to me.

 And as I bid my 32nd year goodbye; allow me to thank the following:

  • My sister for always being there and for assuming my Mommy duties… I love you.
  • To my precious boys Lorenz and Micah for accepting Mommy for all her frailties and shortcomings. I love you both. Mommy may not be physically present all the time, it doesn’t mean that I love you both less.
  • To the head of the Mafia and his family for the unconditional love and acceptance.
  • To my friends over at the Eagle compound, there is not a day that I don’t miss all of you 🙂
  • To all my friends who were with me during those trying times… all of you are always in my heart wherever I may be.
  • To the LMs – seventeen years and counting, through thick and thin you were there.
  • To my bestfriend, need I say more?
  • To my Takbo.ph family, it seems to me that I have known all of you forever. Thank you for the very warm welcome and for all the happy times that I had with you. Looking forward to lots of wonderful running memories.
  • To BR for the inspiration…
  • To my classmates and buddies at the BR clinic, for the gift of friendship and encouragement.
  • To Coach Titus for your patience and for everything that you have taught me. Thank you, Coach even if most of the time I disobey you.
  •  To the one person who said I will always be loved, I love you too.

              Thank you so much dear God for giving me yet another year… thank you for the year that was.

 In closing, let me share with you a text I received from a very dear friend:

 “GOD PLACED DIFFERENT PEOPLE IN OUR LIVES FOR A REASON. SOME TO CHALLENGE US, SOME TO INSPIRE US, SOME TO STRETCH US, SOME TO ENCOURAGE US, AND SOME FOR OTHER GOOD REASONS… BUT DON’T FORGET THAT YOU ALSO PLAY A UNIQUE ROLE IN SOMEONE ELSE’S LIFE. SO BE HAPPY WHATEVER YOU ARE DOING. NO MATTER HOW SMALL OR HOW DIFFICULT YOUR TASK IS… ONLY YOU CAN DO IT! AND ONLY GOD KNOWS HOW FAR YOUR INFLUENCE CAN GO. HAVE A WONDERFUL JOURNEY IN LIFE”.

8 comments on “The day after tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

